“Capture with your heart”

Officially Retired


He is a piece of art… speaks a thousand words.
He is a visionary… who has met thousands of people.
He is well-traveled . . . probably more than most people.
He is a great travel partner for the last 3.5 years and never failed before.
He is my amazing Nikon D3.

I recently sent him for a check up as the auto focus connector wasn’t working well after my Bali trip. Nikon staff serviced it and to their shock the camera shutter has long worked beyond its life span and the rubber are all coming apart. Other areas were all badly abused by me as well. Nikon came back to me and told me that I need to retire my D3 and they would replace it with a D3s. At that point, my face turned cold and I was really sad. I will miss him tremendously.

I realized that I’ve become sentimentally attached to my D3. So I went forward to ask Nikon to return me the D3. I would like to take pictures of him and to share this story with you. D3 has shot all these pictures you see here and indeed it is an amazing piece of art. He has gone into the hot desert as well as up the mountain into the winter cold. From the – 20˚ snow-peak mountain of Huangshan to the 50˚ hot sun in Arizona, D3 has weathered sun and rain–once it was even caught by a big fat wave.

Salute

5 responses

  1. ryuucat

    RIP D3, i’m sure will miss you too, Alex 🙂

    August 3, 2011 at 3:52 pm

  2. ryuucat

    ooopps, i mean IT will miss you too haa haa…

    August 3, 2011 at 3:55 pm

  3. Kelvin

    ok bro, i sell to you my D3s! lol

    August 3, 2011 at 5:30 pm

  4. I’m sure he has done a good job all these years of working with you and he is proud of it that at last he has time to rest and reflect while you look for another younger partner to take along !

    August 4, 2011 at 12:28 pm

  5. dew

    it’s your great buddy for life ….wonderful memories you had with it..

    December 26, 2011 at 2:50 am

Leave a Reply

