“Capture with your heart”

5 Years Ago


My first visit to Amphawa, Thailand was 5 years ago. During those days, Amphawa was just a floating village where you could find the simplicity of lives. It’s a tranquil place where one could relax their soul and mind. I remembered it was so relaxing to sit by the riverside along the houses.

I was introduced to Ban Mae Arom Home-stay at Amphawa by a Thai friend. The owner of the house has just opened his 100-year-old house for home stay by his friends. I was the first few guests that signed on his guestbook.  In fact I am the first Singaporean to stay in his house and together with me were my three American friends and they were the first guests from overseas too. It is interesting to visit Amphawa again 5 years later in May 2011. Amphawa has now became the most well-received travel spot in the whole of Thailand. More and more tourists have come to know about this interesting place. If you wish to know more about Amphawa, just search for it on the web and you should be able to find your way there.

Amphawa has more than 360 small canals. The way to move about Amphawa is by boat. Around it were many beautiful old houses where you could see people washing their clothes and brushing their teeth early in the morning by the water. Monks will come and collect their alms, some by foot and some by boat. You could visit some of the temples where you’ll find real monk corpse that is gold-plated seated in the temple. I must share that these monk corpses are looking “much richer” now as I could see that the gold on their body are much thicker now as compare with what I saw 5 years ago. hahaha 😀

Amphawa has many great eating places by the water. You could relax at your home-stay while boats come rowing towards you with great food. We had coffee, ice-cream and pad-thai. You could even order BBQ seafood if you like.

Here’s the 1st guestbook which I have signed 5 years ago; I have added my greetings now, 5 years later.

First Ban Mae Arom Homestay guestbook

I shot this old lady at the marketplace 5 years ago and 5 years later when I saw her again, she still has a great smile  . . . but with lesser teeth. I think she may have added another 100 wrinkles by looking at her current picture. Also the fashion has changed as you could see the honey-cone style hat is no longer in fashion and she has modernized it with a more streamlined and contour hat. I was caught up in capturing a good picture that I forgot to taste what she is selling. Maybe I have to wait for another 5 years to try it again. Will she still be there?

Monk corpse in the temple. As you could see, they are now “richer” right?

Here are some of the pictures I took 5 years ago.

And pictures I have captured 5 years later in May 2011.

Life at Maeklong Station Market. Poh and her friend’s daughter whom she is helping to baby-sit. She has been selling fruits here for the last 20 years. It is interesting to watch how they quickly kept the canvas when the train came. Everyone automatically starts helping each other out without anyone having to call for help. As I was using my wide angle lens to capture this shot, suddenly someone pulled me from behind. Before I realized, the train was zooming very close by me. Thanks to my new found friend Namkang 22-year-old girl who happen to be there for her first day of work at Maeklong Station Market, I had a close shave.

Last but not least, here are some artistic Black & White shots which I like.


Copyright © Alex Soh

4 responses

  1. Miao

    Do you happen to know if Baan Mae Arom Homestay is still available?
    I wish to go there for a stay in Nov but having difficulty contacting the people..

    August 24, 2012 at 10:20 am

  2. Hello there, I discovered your blog by way of Google even as searching for a similar
    matter, your website came up, it seems good. I have bookmarked it in my google
    bookmarks.
    Hello there, just become aware of your weblog through Google, and
    located that it is truly informative. I’m going to watch out for brussels. I will be grateful if you happen to proceed this in future. Many other folks shall be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

    January 14, 2013 at 9:02 pm

Leave a Reply

