“Capture with your heart”

Give me a road



Dear Friends,

I am now in Siem Reap, Cambodia. It is very hot here (42C) and we are so tired after walking under the hot sun. The purpose I am here is to bring a few friends to visit this place Cham Rash, it is about 70 km away from the town and it takes two hours on a bumpy track just to get to the village. This is the poorest area where lives are very hard here and we had brought them some old clothing and hope to raise funds to build a proper road for this village. I remember the first time we asked the people how would they want us to help you. Their reply was no cloths, food or money… their reply was “Give us a road… give us a road so that we could walk out of poverty ourselves”.

My last trip here the whole place was flooded with water and I could not even see the road, and have to put ourselves on a oxcart just to enter the village. But now is the dry season and the people in this village are struggle without water as you could see from the images the ponds and wells has all been dry out. Just a day of visit is already very hard for us, I just felt so sorry for the people who are living here. The contrast of weather is really great and it is really very hard to live here without clean water and a road which they could go to the school, market and hospital. Child die because of unclean water and often too late when they arrive at the hospital.

To see more pictures of Cham Rash, please take a look at the video clip on right “Give me a road” or visit my facebook.

Alex Soh
April 24, 2010

9 responses

  1. Ann

    Hi,

    Just saw the show at 10.30pm on channel 8.

    Feel so touched by all those photos and story.

    Just to check that if i want to donate clothing for those people at camobonia, how to go about it.

    Please advise.

    Thank you so much.

    Ann…

    June 29, 2010 at 11:06 pm

  2. Moon

    Hi,
    I’ve watch the show on channel 8 last night.. Is really so heart pain when viewing the show.. I’ve been to Cambodia in both Siem Reap and Phnom Penh and I really feel the really ‘WELCOME’ words from them so strongly…Just by seeing their smile on their face really make me feel so happy and I really,Really want to go back.. Am I able to help out anything?

    Thank you so much for bringing all this to share with us.. 🙂

    Moon 🙂

    June 30, 2010 at 8:39 am

  3. Mrs Au

    Hi Alex

    Thank you for highlighting the plight of the Cham Resh people. I have some maternity and baby clothes/stuff. Can I contribute to the project?
    Can i post your blog URL into my facebook to appeal for more contributions?

    June 30, 2010 at 10:29 am

  4. Fen

    Hi Alex

    Please advise how we can make donation of money and old clothes for the people of Cham Resh.

    Thank you.
    Fen

    June 30, 2010 at 3:22 pm

  5. Felicia Lim

    Thank you for highlighting the plights of the Cham Resh villagers. It is always heart-wrenching to learn of fellow human beings suffering in such a manner. Please let me know how i can offer my humble help to this project or similar ones in future. Thank you.

    August 26, 2010 at 6:58 pm

  6. Felicia Lim

    Thank you for highlighting the plights of the Cham Resh villagers. It is always heart-wrenching to learn of fellow human beings suffering in such a manner. Please let me how I can offer my humble help to this project or similar ones in future. Thank you.

    August 26, 2010 at 7:04 pm

  7. Fynn

    Hi, how can I make donation and do you take in baby and children clothes? Thanks.

    March 29, 2015 at 10:22 pm

    • Hi Fynn, The Project Road which was just rebroadcast by MediaCorp Channel 8 today and a few days ago. I guess MediaCorp wanted to show a series of good work and meaningful project done by Singaporean in tribute to Mr Lee Kuan Yew. Without Mr Lee giving us a home we wouldn’t be thinking about others. Project Road was done 4 years ago, Wow! that was a long time ago! The 3.7km road has already been completed! A big Thank You to Lions Club and the team who has made all this possible and to all supporters who has came forward to gave your help and financial support at the exhibition. I have got a word from the local Cambodian in-charge that “We did not just help the people, we have changed the life of the people”. Wow! that makes me wanted to do more of these projects! With the road builded today, children are able to go to school and the sick are able to reach the hospital in time. Home build along the road and so on. We are so thankful of the out come. Here is a page and some pictures which has more updates of Project Road: https://alexsohphotography.wordpress.com/…/project-road-upd…/

      You could follow my facebook for new updates on new project coming this year @ http://www.facebook.com/alexsohphotography

      Thank you for your kind heart 🙂

      March 29, 2015 at 10:52 pm

Leave a Reply

