“Capture with your heart”

Something to think about…


February 24, 2010, morning 9.35 am
It was a morning when I sent my wife to work, on the way out of her office building I saw an old lady limping as she walked. I stop my car and asked her where she wants to go? She then told me that she has lose her way and she has been walking around for more than one and the half hour trying to find her way out from this industrial area. So I asked her where she was going and can I send her there? And so I gave her a lifted and help to find that place. She was so happy kept saying “you are a good young man, a man with good heart”. She than said “not many young people like you these days”. I think there are two things we could learn from here. 1st Why she said that there are not many young people that are helpful these days? I think it is something for us to think about. Are we too busy these days or simply we don’t have a heart for people? 2nd We should reflect and don’t we wish one day when we are old like her and limping our way someone would come along side to give us a help? I am glad I did stop my car that morning and question myself what if I did not stop my car. The contrast of what happen of both thoughts would be a great different. One walk away with a heart that feels good because I know that I have really done a good did and the other was my heart was so cold that I will not find the joy I could have had and continue to be a selfish person.

When I was photographing with my buddy Terry Bidgood in Chile, we would pick people up along the way as we drive through the national park. Asking people if we could gave them a lifted closer to where they are heading too straight ahead. I remember what Terry said to me in the car, he said “Alex, do you know how thankful I was to those people who had helps me when I was backpacking in South America? There are times that it was so cold out there on the road and people would stop their car to gave me a lifted or people opened their home for us and gave us some food to eat when we don’t have.” I hope the world we live in today will keep the tradition and let us continue to have a good heart for people. I hope we could also pass it down to our next generation. I understand with the world today that many are worry about danger and safety more than offering their help to people, you might have heard about people got rob because of trying to help. I think there will sure have such incident happen in this world or rather may I said anything could happen in this world. But we do know that we know all these information through the newspapers or the TV news. Now think about what if there is no TV and News? Would we know what’s happening out there? Or rather would we still continue to help people with a positive mind? We must know that news was from around the world or the incident happen might be just happen once in a million. What I am saying is don’t burn the whole forest because of one tree and don’t take from one incident and get suspicious of everyone else. Or rather don’t live a life that is full of worries and selfish because one day it might be you or me who are the one that needed the help from someone else.

Please leave your comments, I would love to hear from you and your thinking.

Cheers

alexsoh

Leave a Reply

